A January Snow

After weeks of rain, we awoke one morning to a covering of snow. By my mid-Western standards, it wasn’t a significant amount, but those three inches did a wonderful job of covering up the mud and layering the land with a fluffy white blanket.

We were both awake early and took the opportunity for a walk before the crowds of snow-crazed people arrive to go sledding, build snowmen, and generally leave behind a mess from their enjoyment. For us, the chance to be out first, looking for tracks of foxes, badgers and rabbits is exciting.

We found plenty of rabbit tracks surround the house and garden confirming the need for diligence as we plan our summer vegetable planting. Thankfully, there were no paw-prints from foxes anywhere near our chickens. No signs of badgers either. It seems our electric fencing is working to protect our hens.

Oblivious to any predatory risk, the chickens head out to greet their first snow of the season, clucking a mixture of confusion and delight: “This stuff is pretty and makes my feathers look so fetching but where is the mud and how am I to find worms here?” Or, something like that.

It’s still early and the morning sky emits shades of light suggesting more snow to come. We make our way up the path toward the woods and tors, knowing we are the first to lay our boot-tracks in this snow. Roger has a buoyant gate as if he is expecting something exciting to cross his path. Aromas buried beneath the white, flaky ground cover enchant Sam. And I’m taking a few photos to hold onto this moment where it feels as if Dartmoor is revealing her secrets to us only.

 

P1030516P1030520P1030521P1030524P1030526P1030531P1030538

30 comments on “A January Snow

  1. RobP says:

    The images look very picturesque. Is this snow from this week? I’m headed out on the Moors this Friday and have always hoped to be on there with snow. Though I suspect that rain is closer to the order of the day 🙂

    My route will take me right past your farm on Sunday morning – sort of 10am to 11am -ish. So if you are up and about I might pop over 🙂

    • Sadly Rob, the snow is all gone by this posting. It was a brief and wonderful covering of the land. Who knows what you’ll be in for this weekend on your adventure. Today is the aftermath of the blizzards in the USA: strong, strong winds. We’re around on Sunday morning, so pop in!

  2. Jenny says:

    Dartmoor looks stunning – how lovely to have it to yourselves briefly.

  3. Ah, snow so lovely to look at! Hope the wet blizzards pass without too much problem.

  4. Sue says:

    Love any snow pix as recovering from a string of 37/41C days Down Under. Sounds like a beautiful morning, pre-amateur sledders.

  5. June Sheehan says:

    It made me feel as if I was walking with you and sharing the feeling of having that special time before the hordes arrived. What a blessing. June xx

  6. Ann Dawney says:

    Beautiful pics Catherine. I assume photo No 3 shows Roger’s buoyant ‘gate’?

  7. Lydia Noyes says:

    Looks like my homestead, but we got even more snow! In fact, this is the first day out of five that I’ve even been able to drive to work….!

  8. jllevitan says:

    Breathtaking photos and beautiful prose to go along with them. You are truly a gifted writer. I too felt like I was right there with you on your walk. I treasure your blog posts.

  9. Absolutely beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  10. Cindy says:

    One of my many favorite moments of my years in Hoboken with you as my neighbor was coming out of my burrow – the snow half covered my basement suite windows – during the storm of 1996. You and I had a great time digging out our cars parked across the street from each other. I’m sure we made hot chocolate later to warm our fingers and toes. I hear the nostalgia in your observations – you know what a really snow is. But in any case I hope to one day walk the snowing or raining or sunny moors with the three of you. I always enjoy getting your posts. Keep them coming.

    • I too share those memories of that amazing snow storm! In fact, I recall building snow forts for the cars and then refusing to move them, all too certain someone would drive up and park in my nicely dug out spot. Of course, there was so much snow, the mayor closed town for a few days and then right out of a Dr. Seuss book, there was confusion about what to do with all of the snow which had been plowed……there was simply no where to put it.

  11. Lydia Noyes says:

    Gorgeous! Jonas really hit my homestead this year, though I think I got a lot more snow than you. So much in fact that today is the first day in five days that I’ve been able to drive my car. Pretty crazy but an enchanting time to be at home.

  12. Greg says:

    Being slightly OCD I would have a real issue with not knowing if I was stepping on poo or not!

  13. Greg says:

    No Catherine, I’m afraid I think I would just have to stay inside until it all melted and I could see where I was stepping again. OCD and poo do not go together I’m afraid 😦
    Anyhow, apologies as I’m sure you do not want your beautiful blog story tainted with poo!
    Take care and mind where you are stepping!

Leave a Reply

